Try Some Thai Cuisine!

Last night I went to dinner with a friend of mine in Bloomfield and we were trying to decide where to go. She’s lived there all summer and suggested we go to a vegetarian place (since she’s a vegetarian) or this place called Thai Gourmet on Liberty Avenue. It ended up being the thai place since the vegetarian place closed at 6! That is so early! Anyways, before this I’ve never been to a thai restaurant or had that kind of food so I was sort of skittish when we went in to eat there! It was a really cute place though, small but the service was great and everyone was nice! When it came to ordering I had no idea what to get, I had googled thai and vegetarian food before going out. (I like to be prepared when I go places!) Even after researching I wasn’t sure but I knew about curry and pad thai so I was planning on going with one of those. I eventually decided on pad thai with chicken and my friend got the same thing but with tofu and it ended up being a great choice!

Pad Thai, sooo good!

That’s what I got! It was a huge portion and I will probably be eating it for lunch for the next 2 days!  It was filled with lots of rice noodles, bean sprouts, chicken, egg and lots of flavor! You can order it with a little bit of spice to it you just have to say a number between 1 & 10, I said 3. It was just the perfect amount of heat for me! It was over all a great experience and I would try it again in a heart beat! The prices weren’t that bad, my meal was $10 and since the portion was so big I am able to take it for lunch too! So it’s like 2 or 3 meals in 1!

I also found a great healthier version of this dish on Women’s Health Magazine’s website! If you want to try to make a healthier version at home here you go!

Pad Thai

  • 8 oz rice-flour noodles
  • 1/4 C reduced-sodium fish sauce
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 tbsp reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • Juice of 1 lime (about 2 Tbsp)
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp ground red pepper
  • 1 tbsp toasted sesame oil, divided
  • 4 oz firm tofu, cubed (optional)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 egg + 2 egg whites, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 lb ground chicken (or 3-4 chicken breasts)
  • 4 C bean sprouts
  • 4 med scallions, including green tops, thinly sliced (1/2 c)
  • 2 tbsp roughly chopped roasted, unsalted peanuts
  • 1 C cilantro leaves
1.Soak noodles. Set aside.
2.Whisk together fish sauce, sugar, soy sauce, lime juice, vinegar, pepper and 1 teaspoon of oil in a small bowl and set aside.
3. Heat remaining 2 teaspoons oil in wok or large nonstick skillet over medium heat. When oil is hot but not smoking, add tofu and cook, turning once, until light brown, about 3 minutes. Add garlic and cook 1 to 2 minutes. Add eggs. When just set, stir and gently push to side of pan.
4. Add chicken to pan and cook until no longer pink, about 5 minutes. Add sprouts and stir gently until all ingredients are barely combined. Stir in drained noodles, scallions, and fish sauce mixture and simmer just until liquid thickens slightly, 5 to 10 minutes.
5. Serve garnished with the peanuts and cilantro.

Tips for the Rice Noodles

3 Ways to Soak Rice-Flour Noodles Easiest: Soak in enough cold water to cover for 40 to 50 minutes. Quicker: Cover with boiling water. Let stand 20 minutes. The Option I Would Choose: Barely cover with water in a shallow dish. Microwave 3 to 4 minutes.
There you go! This recipe has about half the amount of calories and sodium as the one I ate last night (oops!) Have any of you tried thai food or anything unique?
Leave a Reply

